Office Address

Ojijo Close, off Ojijo road next to Parklands Police Station

Phone Number

+254 740 047 047

Email Address

Governor Wambora, he of ‘nine lives’ takes over from Oparanya

  • 26

Embu Governor Martin Wambora is the new Council of Governors (CoG) chairperson.

Wambora was battling for the seat with Kirinyaga’s Anne Waiguru, Kwale’s Salim Mvurya, and Uasin Gishu’s Jackson Mandago.

In a meeting held at Nairobi’s Maverick Hotel, county bosses decided to pick Wambora as the chairperson through a consensus.

He will be deputised by Kisii County Governor James Ongwae, who was also chosen by consensus.

Wambora takes over from Kakamega’s Wycliffe Oparanya.

The governor with “nine lives

Governor Wambora has earned the proverbial “cat with nine lives”, owing to the several impeachment motions he has survived, dating back to 2014. He was the first governor to be impeached in Kenya.

In February 2014, hardly a year after he had been elected as the county’s first Governor, Embu MCAs voted to impeach Wambora on abuse of office grounds.

The High Court, however, came to his rescue, quashing the first attempt on grounds that MCAs ignored a court order that had halted the impeachment process.

In April, The MCAs launched a serious impeachment motion, this time they impeached Wambora and forwarded their resolutions to the Senate. The Senate affirmed the MCAs decision to remove the governor from office.

ALSO:  DCI arrests 2 Pakistanis in Nairobi's Westlands over counterfeits

The Court of Appeal, however, nullified the senate’s decision to impeach Wambora, ruling that there was no clear evidence that the governor violated the Constitution.

There have been a record four attempts to impeach him, with each time successfully challenging the impeachments in court.

In January 2019, Wambora survived an election petition after the Supreme Court upheld his 2017 poll victory.

Elgeyo Marakwet Governor Alex Tolgos has been elected as the new Chief Whip in the council.

Chairs of Committees

Health- Anyang Nyongo (Kisumu)
Agriculture- James Nyoro (Kiambu)
Arid and Semi-Arid- John Lonyangapuo (West Pokot)
Education- Mutahi Kahiga (Nyeri)
Water- Francis Kimemia (Nyandarua)
Environment- Wilberfoce Otichilo (Vihiga)
Blue Economy- Fahim Twaha (Lamu)
Tourism- Ole Tunai (Narok)
Human Resource, Labor- Wycliffe Wangamati (Bungoma)
Finance- Ndiritu Muriithi (Laikipia)
Manufacturing- Charity Ngilu (Kitui)
Legal- Kiraitu Murungi (Meru)
Urban Development- Lee Kinyanjui (Nakuru)
Gender- Anne Waiguru (Kirinyaga)
Security- Dhadho Godhana (Tana River)
ICT- Paul Chepkwony (Kericho)
Inter-Gov relations- Ali Korane (Garissa)

Martin Wambora becomes the fifth CoG chairperson after his predecessors Isaac Ruto, Peter Munya, Josphat Nanok and Wycliffe Oparanya.

Related Posts