Kalonzo, Karua, Otiende Amollo among those conferred as Senior Counsels


Former Vice President Kalonzo Musyoka, Former Justice and Constitutional Affairs Minister Martha Karua and MP Otiende Amollo are among 24 lawyers who have been conferred as senior counsels.

President Uhuru Kenyatta on Monday, July 20 set his hand and seal to issue the letters of conferment bestowing the coveted rank and dignity, after almost a year-long fight.

The Law Society of Kenya had in May nullified the nomination of the 24 lawyers after accusing the Justice Mohamed Ibrahim’s committee of being unfair in their selection.

The committee had submitted its report on August 26, 2019.

Other lawyers who have being confered with the Senior Counsel status include;

OM Parkash Nagpal, Stephen Kalonzo Musyoka, Martha Wangari Karua, Fackson Wainaina Kagwe (Dr.), Pravin Kumar Bowry, Charles Waweru Gatonye, Rautta Athiambo, Fredrick Ngatia, Mohammed Nyaoga, Philip Murgor, Albert Mumma, Beautah Alukhava Siganga and Kiragu Kimani.

Others are; Judy Thongori, Taib Ali Taib Bajabir, Zehrabanu Janmohamed, Wilfred Nderitu, John M. Ohaga, Kioko Kilukumi, Patricia Mande Nyaundi, Dorcas Agik Odhong Oduor, Abdikadir Hussein Mohamed, Paul Otiende Amollo and John Mugwimi Chigiti

The rank of Senior Counsel is conferred in accordance with the recommendations of the Committee on Senior Counsel, to Advocates of the High Court of Kenya who have distinguished themselves by rendering exemplary service in the legal and public service arenas.

Share News With Tv47
Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button