Four more counties to issue e-passports besides Nyayo House, Nairobi

Spread the love

The process of applying for a Kenyan passport at Nyayo House was once described by a frustrated applicant as a ‘cattle dip’ due to the way people are stuffed inside.

The applicant said, “If there was an emergency, it would be a total disaster. No space between the “pews”. I got there at 6:30 am and was given number 2:15pm. Imagine the total number of hours wasted.”

Ahead of the August 2019 deadline for e-passports application, Kenyans have been flocking at Nyayo House.

Director of Immigration Services Alexander Muteshi, who took over on July 6 last year, acknowledged that there is a problem but was quick to state that the department is formulating solutions.

“The applications are very many, especially with the approaching deadline for the new generation passports. There is an average of 1,200 applications in Nairobi each day and 300 in the other centres.”

New e passports.

However, this is expected to change as the government has opened four new immigration centres in the country and six others in the diaspora. 

In Kenya, the new stations are located in Nakuru, Kisii, Eldoret and Embu.

The government has also opened three centres in Europe – Berlin, Paris and London – one in Washington DC in the United States, another in the Gulf city of Dubai, and in Johannesburg, South Africa.

The four local are now operational, but will be officially be launched next week by the Interior Cabinet Secretary Dr Fred Matiangi.

“Those in the diaspora will also be opened soon to help Kenyans living there acquire e-passports easily,” said Mr Muteshi

Share News With Tv47 Do you have a groundbreaking story you would like us to publish? Please reach us through or WhatsApp: +254 7111 74 230. Contact Now
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button